MATSOL Awards & Grants

MATSOL awards and grants recognize excellence, creativity, and innovation in our field. Awards are presented at the annual MATSOL conference.


The Anne Dow Award for Excellence and Creativity 

Anne Rindlaub Dow

The Anne Dow Award for Excellence and Creativity is given annually to a professional who has made outstanding efforts that reflect enthusiasm and creative, energetic, independent thinking. This professional displays the ability to take risks, solve problems, support colleagues, and model ethical behavior. Specific criteria vary from year to year, to reflect the many facets of Anne's career and interests. The 2023 award will be granted for collaboration in support of English learners. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium.

The Dow Award welcomes nomination of individuals in early education, PK-12, adult, workplace or higher education programs that serve students learning English and multilingual learners. 

Candidates must be nominated for this award.

Nominations are due by midnight April 15, 2023 (extended)

This award honors Anne Rindlaub Dow, a MATSOL member and educator who was best known as the director of ESL programs at Harvard for over 20 years. She made a difference in the lives of many who knew her in the Boston area and throughout the world. 


Linda Schulman Innovation Grants

The Linda Schulman Innovation Fund welcomes proposals for projects that promote English language learning and embody a spirit of creativity, sensitivity and community. We give grants of approximately $500 - $1,000 for pedagogical plans that benefit English language learners by improving their language competency or increasing their understanding of American culture.

To apply, candidates must submit a grant proposal. The Call for Proposals is currently closed

Linda Schulman served on the MATSOL Board of Directors and was President of MATSOL from 1997-1998. 

More Articles...